Pugs 外典之一
Pugs 计划概述

何谓 Pugs 外典?

Pugs 外典(Pugs Apocrypha)是一系列采问答体例,用以解释 Pugs 设计及实作的文件。本外典(PA01)乃此一计划之总要。

何谓 Pugs?

Pugs 始自 2005 年 2 月,是针对 Perl 6 语言进行的实作,由负责人 Autrijus Tang(唐宗汉)在开发团队 (committers)与贡献者(contributors)的襄助下,进行设计及开发。

何谓 Perl 6?

Perl 6 是 Perl 语言的下一个主要版本,由 Larry Wall 领导的团队负责设计。Perl 是一种语境相关、多重典范之实用程式语言。 Perl 6 团队已表示非 常欢迎 Pugs 专案的诞生。

Perl 6 规范是否已经底定?

截至 2004 年 12 月,Perl 6 大部份规格都已载明于一系列的纲要(Synopses) 中。虽然纲要日后可能还会 有所更动,但目前已稳定到可以实作的地步。Larry 的启示录(Apocalypse) 是许多纲要的基 础。设计团队偶尔也会发表注疏(Exegesis), 解说启示录的内容。Pugs 遵循纲要之内容,当有疑义时则参考启示录与注疏。

何谓“Apocrypha& rdquo;?

Apocrypha(外 典)一词源 自希腊文 απόκρυφο ς(隐藏),代表非正统的宗教典籍。依 希腊文,单数型应为 Apocryphon

外典与 Perl 6 设计文件之关系为何?

启示录与纲要描述抽象的 Perl 6 语言规范;外典则与 Pugs 实作息息相关。如同 Parrot 设计文件, 外典也将依据 Pugs 的状态而不时更新。

Pugs 会实作完整的 Perl 6 规格吗?

会的。Pugs 将一直以最新的 Perl 6 纲要版本为实作目标。一旦有新的纲要或修订版本出现时,Pugs 和新版不一致之处,将视为 Pugs 的瑕疵。

Pugs 是自由软体吗?

是的。Pugs 采用 GPL 第二版及 Artistic License 第 2.0b5 版释出。Artistic 2.0 最终版本一旦底定,Pugs 即会采用。

Pugs 是否受到 Perl 基金会赞助?

没有。在接受 Perl 基金会的三份专案补 助后, Autrijus 决定捐出自己的时间,透过 Pugs 来协助 Perl 6 专案,不向 TPF 请求赞助。

如何取得 Pugs?

Subversiondarcs 档案库,可以取得最新版的 Pugs 源码。在 CPAN 上,也会以 Perl6-Pugs 为名定期释出。(顺带一提,若有兴趣针对 Subversion 档案库进行离线开发,svk 也许对你会有帮助。祗用 svn 当然亦无不可。)

如何编译 Pugs?

Pugs 采用标准 Makefile.PL 编译系统;请见 README 档案的详细说明。由于 Pugs 是用 Haskell 语言写成,请先安装 Glasgow Haskell Compiler (GHC) 6.4 或以上版本。请下载所属平台的安 装档;从源码编译 GHC 得花上不少时间。

何谓 Haskell?

Haskell 乃标准化的纯粹函数式程式语言,具有惰性求值(lazy evaluation)特性。虽然它有许多不同的实作可用,但 Pugs 采用了 GHC 特有的若干功能,因此必须用 GHC 来编译。

GHC 又是什么?

GHC 是尖端的编译器与互动式环境,采用 BSD 式授权释出。GHC 本身以 Haskell 写成,能把 Haskell 编译成位元组码(bytecode)、C 语言程式,与某些平台的机器码。GHC 附有完整的程式库、为数众多的语言延伸,以及强大的最佳化系统(藉由某 Perl 5 程式的协助)。因此,GHC 提供了解决 Perl 6 自举问题(bootstrapping problem)的绝佳平台。

何谓 Perl 6 自举问题?

Perl 6 专案的目标是自足 执行(self-hosting):Perl 6 编译器得用 Perl 6 本身撰写,采用 Perl 6 Rules 来剖析 Perl 6 语法,而 Rules 又是 Perl 6 语言的一部份。此外,编译器产出之程式码也得包含能动态执行 Perl 6 程式码的求值器(evaluator)。要打破此种相依循环,唯有采用其它语言先实作某些部份,然后再用 Perl 6 加以重写。

最初的自举计划为何?

根据 Parrot 答客问,最初的计划是利用 Perl 5 进行自举:先扩充 Perl 5,使其执行于 Parrot 虚拟机器上(透过 B::ParrotPonie), 再以 Perl 5 实作 Perl 6 编译器,最后透过 p5-to-p6 转换器将编译器转译成 Perl 6。不过,虽然 Perl6::Rules 确实在 Perl 5 上实作了 Rules 的雏型,但对于建构编译器而言仍显得不够成熟。因此,自举计划转而以 C 语言代替。

修订后的自举计划为何?

根据一份 2005 初的建 议 书,首先应采用 C 语言实作 Rules 引擎(即为 PGE), 用它将 Perl 6 剖析成 Parrot 的抽 象语法树(AST), 接着在 Parrot 里实作 AST 求值器。Ponie 和 p5-to-p6 仍在进行中,但已非自举程序中的关键成份。

Pugs 能如何协助 Perl 6 自举?

在自举程序中,常存在许多瓶颈,使得许多依赖这些瓶颈的工作无法推 展。好比说,没有可用的 Perl 6 实作,就难以为 Perl 6 撰写单元测试与标准程式库;在缺少 AST 介面的情况下,也没办法撰写 AST 求值器。Pugs 为此程序的各层面提供可用的替代元件,因此解决了上述的困境。

Pugs 有助于 Perl 6 语言设计吗?

在缺少可用的实作时,很难看出规格内的不一致与例外状况。然而,假如 在实作许久之后,才发现设计上的瑕疵,可能就得在重新架构上耗费许多心力。藉由 提供可用的 Perl 6 实作,Pugs 可做为先期的确认平台;这样不但能趁早解决问题,也可以鼓励更多人运用 Perl 6 的特性。

为何选择 Haskell?

Haskell 具有许多与 Perl 6 特点相应的功能:Perl 6 Rules 与 Parsec 十分相似;两种语言里都有惰性串列求值;延续函式(continuation)则可利用 ContT 单子转换器(monad transformer)来建构。这让雏型开发工作简化许多:首支可用的直译器只花了一 星期便释出了,在第 三个星期时,我们已经有了可 供单元测试的全功能 Test.pm 模组。

Pugs 是编译器还是直译器?

和 Perl 5 相似,Pugs 先把 Perl 6 程式编译成 AST,然后再用内建的求值器加以执行。不过,未来 Pugs 可能会提供支援多种编译器后端的编译器介面。

考虑纳入哪些编译器后端呢?

如果要实作编译器的话,首先很可能会是产出 Perl 6 程式码,类似 B::Deparse 模组的编译器后端。接下来则可能产出 Haskell 程式码,并交由 GHC 编译成 C 语言。届时,下一个目标很可能是 Parrot AST 介面。如果有人愿意协助的话,我们也可能再加入其它后端(譬如 Perl 5 bytecode)。

预定的 Pugs 开发计划为何?

Pugs 之主要/次要版本号将逼近 2*π;次版本号中的各小数位皆代表一项里程碑。版本号的第三位数会在每次释出时递增。目前的里程碑 为:

Pugs 的可携性如何?

Pugs 可在 Win32、Linux 与多种 Unix 系统上执行。GHC 的移植者名单下载 网页有详细的资讯。从 6.2.0 开始,Pugs 团队也会提供若干平台的安装档。

Pugs 的速度是否够快?

在 Parsec 的强力支援下,Pugs 的解译器很快。不过 Pugs 的求值器目前尚未最佳化:在一般 PC 上每秒约处理 1000 个运算符,大约比 Perl 5 慢上 100 倍。这对实现雏型语言功能来说,已经够快了;假如还不能满足你的需要,请考虑帮忙开发编译器后端。

有 Perl 6 模组的 CPAN 吗?

没有。当前发布 Perl 6/Pugs 模组较好的方式,是交由 openfoundry.org 的提交者,将你的模组放到 Pugs 原始码档案库下的 modules/ 目录。最好能同时提供该模组的测试案例,让我们对该模组多些了解。

但情况也不是就那么糟。假如你够耐心,可以等候 Pugs::MakeMakerModule::Install::Pugs 的出现。等到以上模组出现在 CPAN 上,表示我们已经解决了散布上的问题。你就可以开始把东西丢上 CPAN 了。当然,随时欢迎各方提供其它意见。

Pugs 能与 Perl 5 程式库共用吗?

虽然目前还不行,但我们未来可能会照 Autrijus 之前实作 Inline::MzScheme 的方式,撰写 Inline::GHC 模组,让 Perl 5 与 Haskell 模组能相互沟通。如果成功的话,架一个 Inline::Pugs 在上面也非难事。不然,我们也可能写个产出 Pugs AST 码的 Perl 5 程式码解译器,让 Pugs 能执行纯以 Perl 写成的模组。再不然,也可以把 Pugs AST 编成 Perl 5 的 AST,不过这更是纯属臆测。

Pugs 能与 Haskell 程式库共用吗?

目前你可以把 Haskell 程式库静态链接至 Pugs 的内建函式,祗需修改 Prim.hs 内的几列程式码即 可。我们正考虑撰写 hs-plugins 的简易界面,让 Pugs 能动态载入 Hasekll 程式库,甚至在 Perl 6 中内嵌 Haskell 程式码。

Pugs 能与 C 程式库共用吗?

还不行。不过 HaskellDirect 配上前述的 hs-plugins,似乎会是与 C、CORBA 及 COM 程式库沟通的简单方式。

我会 Perl 5,不懂 Haskell。我能帮 Pugs 的忙吗?

当然!Pugs 的标准程式库与单元测试都是以 Perl 6 写成的,而我们总是需要更多的测试和程式库。这方面的工作只需要懂 Perl 5,再花上几分钟熟悉少部份语法的不同之处即可。当然,过程中你也可能会学到一些 Haskell 相关的知识。

我会 Haskell,但不懂 Perl 5。我可以帮忙吗?

当然!Perl 6 和 Haskell 有很多相似之处,好比说依据型别分派的函式(type-based function dispatch)、以函式为值(first class functions),以及局部套用函式(currying)等等;因此,要了解语法也会简单许多。总是有许多功能的待办测试等着实作,不用怕找不到事情 做。

我会一点 Perl 6。我能用 Pugs 做什么?

先看看 examples/ 目录里的范例程式。已经有人用 Pugs 写了网站应用软体与报表系统。假若你发现 Pugs 有不足之处,请告诉我们,以便实作。

哪里可以学 Haskell?

Haskell 首页Wiki 会是不错的开始。有许多线上教学文件可看;Yet Another Haskell Tutorial 可能是其中最容易上手的。由于 Pugs 中大量应用单子转换器 (monad transformer),建议读读 All About Monads。书的话,Algorithms: A Functional Programming ApproachHaskell: The Craft of Functional ProgrammingThe Haskell School of Expression 都是很好的入门读物。此外,freenode#haskell 频道上有许多热爱 Haskell 的人可以帮忙。

哪里学得到 Perl 6?

Perl 6 首页有许多线上文件。每隔一两个星期,Perl.com 上会有新的 Perl 6 通信论坛摘要,想赶上 Perl 6 的开发进度者一定不能错过。在书藉方面,Perl 6 and Parrot EssentialsPerl 6 Now 都很有帮助。

要如何学习实作程式语言?

Types and Programming Languages 一定要读。Pugs 最初是 Autrijus 在自学此书时的习作;它在实作期间也一直是重要的指南。它的续集 Advanced Topics in Types and Programming Languages 同样十分重要。熟悉其它多重典范语言(如 Mozart/OzCurryO’Caml 等)可能也有帮助。此外,GHC commentary 为 GHC 实作提供了详实的描述。

我想帮忙,该怎么做?

首先,发一封空白信到 perl6-compiler-subscribe@perl.org, 订阅 perl6-compiler 通信论坛。接着加入 irc.freenode.net#perl6 IRC 频道,看看有什么待办事项;不妨与 #perl6 上的 Pugs 团队连系,以加入开发团队。咱们 IRC 上见!

Pugs Apocryphon 1
Overview of the Pugs project

What is this document about?

The Pugs Apocrypha are a series of documents, written in question/answer format, to explain the design and implementation of Pugs. This document (PA01) is a higher-level overview of the project.

What is Pugs?

Started in February 2005, Pugs is an implementation of the Perl 6 language. Autrijus Tang is responsible for the design and development of Pugs with help from a group of committers and contributors.

What is Perl 6?

Perl 6 is the next major revision of Perl, a context-sensitive, multi-paradigmatic, practical programming language, designed by a team led by Larry Wall. The Pugs project has been enthusiastically welcomed by the Perl 6 team.

Has Perl 6 been specified?

By December 2004, most of Perl 6 has been specified as a series of Synopses. Although not considered final, it is now stable enough to be implemented. Many of the Synopses are based on Larry's Apocalypses. Sometimes the design team releases Exegeses, which explain the meaning of Apocalypses. Pugs adheres to the Synopses, referring to Apocalypses or Exegeses when a Synopsis is unclear or imprecise.

What does “Apocrypha” mean?

The word Apocrypha, from the Greek απόκρυφος, “hidden”, refers to religious works that are not considered canonical, or part of officially accepted scripture. The proper singular form in Greek is Apocryphon.

What is the relationship between Apocrypha and the Perl 6 design documents?

Apocalypses and Synopses cover the Perl 6 language in general; Apocrypha are specific to the Pugs implementation. Like Parrot Design Documents, Apocrypha will be constantly updated according to the status of Pugs.

Will Pugs implement the full Perl 6 specification?

Yes. Pugs always targets the latest revision of Perl 6 Synopses. As soon as a new revision or a new Synopsis is published, incompatibilities between Pugs and the new version will be considered bugs in Pugs.

Is Pugs free software?

Yes. It is available under both GPL version 2 and Artistic License version 2.0b5. Once the final version of Artistic 2.0 is released, Pugs will adopt it.

Is Pugs funded by the Perl Foundation?

No. After receiving three Perl Foundation grants on various projects, Autrijus decides it would be more helpful to donate time to the Perl 6 project by hacking Pugs, rather than asking TPF for money to do the same thing.

Where can I download Pugs?

For the very latest version of Pugs, check out the source from Subversion or darcs repositories. Periodic releases are available on CPAN under the Perl6-Pugs namespace. (By the way, if you'd like offline working with the Subversion repository, the svk client may be of interest. But using vanilla svn is fine.)

How do I build Pugs?

Pugs uses the standard Makefile.PL build system, as detailed in the README file. Since Pugs is written in Haskell, you will need Glasgow Haskell Compiler (GHC) 6.4 or above. Please download a binary build for your platform; compiling GHC from source code can take a very long time.

What is Haskell?

Haskell is a standardized, purely functional programming language with built-in lazy evaluation capabilities. While there are several different implementations available, currently Pugs needs to be built with GHC, because it uses several GHC-specific features.

What is GHC?

GHC is a state-of-the-art compiler and interactive environment, available under a BSD-style license. Itself written in Haskell, GHC can compile Haskell to bytecode, C code, and machine code on some platforms. GHC has an extensive library, numerous language extensions, and a very capable optimizer (with some help from a Perl 5 program). As such, it provides an excellent platform to solve Perl 6’s bootstrapping problem.

What is the Perl 6 bootstrapping problem?

The goal of the Perl 6 project is to be self-hosting: The Perl 6 compiler needs to be written in Perl 6 itself, and must parse Perl 6 source code with Perl 6 Rules, which is a subset of the Perl 6 language. The generated code must also contain an evaluator that can execute Perl 6 code on the fly. The only way to break this cycle of dependency is by first implementing some parts in other languages, then rewrite those parts in Perl 6.

What was the initial bootstrapping plan?

According to the Parrot FAQ, the initial plan was to bootstrap via Perl 5: First we extend Perl 5 to run on the Parrot virtual machine (via B::Parrot or Ponie), and then implement the Perl 6 compiler in Perl 5, which will be translated to Perl 6 via a p5-to-p6 translator. However, although part of the Rule system was prototyped in Perl 5 as Perl6::Rules, it was not mature enough to build a compiler on. As such, the plan was revised to bootstrap via C instead.

What was the revised bootstrapping plan?

According to an early 2005 proposal, the plan is to first implement the Rule engine in C (i.e. PGE), use it to parse Perl 6 into Parrot as an abstract syntax tree (AST), and then implement an AST evaluator as part of Parrot. Ponie and p5-to-p6 are still in progress, but they are no longer critical dependencies in the bootstrapping process.

How can Pugs help Perl 6 to bootstrap?

In a bootstrapping process, there are often many bottlenecks, which prevent people from working on things that depend on them. For example, one cannot easily write unit tests and standard libraries for Perl 6 without a working Perl 6 implementation, or work on an AST evaluator without an AST interface. Pugs solves such deadlocks by providing ready substitutes at various levels of the process.

How can Pugs help the Perl 6 language design?

Without a working implementation, it is very hard to spot inconsistencies and corner cases in the specification. However, if a design problem is found late into the implementation, it may require costly re-architecture for everything else. By providing a working Perl 6 implementation, Pugs can serve as a proving ground to resolve problems as early as possible, as well as encourage more people to exercise Perl 6’s features.

Why did you choose Haskell?

Many Perl 6 features have similar counterparts in Haskell: Perl 6 Rules corresponds closely to Parsec; lazy list evaluation is common in both languages; continuation support can be modeled with the ContT monad transformer, and so on. This greatly simplified the prototyping effort: the first working interpreter was released within the first week, and by the third week we have a full-fledged Test.pm module for unit testing.

Is Pugs a compiler or an interpreter?

Similar to Perl 5, Pugs first compiles Perl 6 program to an AST, then executes it using the built-in evaluator. However, in the future Pugs may also provide a compiler interface that supports different compiler backends.

Which compiler backends do you have in mind?

If implemented, the first compiler backend will likely generate Perl 6 code, similar to the B::Deparse module. The next one may generate Haskell code, which can then be compiled to C by GHC. At that point, it may make sense to target the Parrot AST interface. We can also add other backends (such as Perl 5 bytecode) if people are willing to work on them.

Do you have a roadmap for Pugs development?

The major/minor version numbers of Pugs converges to 2*π; each significant digit in the minor version represents a milestone. The third digit is incremented for each release. The current milestones are:

How portable is Pugs?

Pugs runs on Win32, Linux and many flavors of Unix systems. See GHC’s porters list and download page for details. Starting from 6.2.0, the Pugs team will also provide binary builds on selected platforms.

How fast is Pugs?

The parser part of Pugs is very fast, due to its robust underpinning in Parsec. However, the Pugs evaluator is currently not optimized at all: dispatching is around 1000 operators per second on a typical PC, which is nearly 100 times slower than Perl 5. Still, it is fast enough for prototyping language features; if you need fast operations in Pugs, please consider helping out the Compiler backend.

Is there a CPAN for Perl 6 modules?

No. The current preferred method for submitting Perl 6/Pugs modules is to ask for a committer bit at openfoundry.org and to add your module to the Pugs source tree under the modules/ directory. It is also helpful to include test suites with your modules as well, so we can know when they work.

However, all is not lost. If you are patient you can wait for Pugs::MakeMaker and Module::Install::Pugs to come out on CPAN. Once they are available individually on CPAN, you can begin submitting things to CPAN, because that means we've figured out the distribution problem. Of course, suggestions are always welcome.

Can Pugs work with Perl 5 libraries?

Not yet. However, we may write a Inline::GHC module in the future, allowing interaction between Perl 5 modules and Haskell modules, similar to Autrijus’ previous work on Inline::MzScheme; if that happens, then it is trivial to build Inline::Pugs on top of it. Alternatively, we may implement a Perl 5 source code parser that emits Pugs AST code, which will make pure Perl modules work on Pugs. Finally, it is also conceivable to compile Pugs AST into Perl 5 AST, but that is even more speculative.

Can Pugs work with Haskell libraries?

Currently, you can statically link Haskell libraries into Pugs primitives, by modifying a few lines in Prim.hs. We are considering writing a simple interface to hs-plugins, which will let Pugs dynamically load Haskell libraries, even inline Haskell code directly within Perl 6.

Can Pugs work with C libraries?

Not yet. However, HaskellDirect seems to provide an easy way to interface with C, CORBA and COM libraries, especially when combined with hs-plugins described above.

I know Perl 5, but not Haskell. Can I develop Pugs?

Sure! The standard libraries and unit tests that come with Pugs are coded in Perl 6, and there is always a need for more tests and libraries. All you need is basic familiarity of Perl 5, and a few minutes to get acquainted with some small syntax changes. You will likely pick up some Haskell knowledge along the way, too.

I know Haskell, but not Perl 5. Can I develop Pugs?

Sure! Perl 6 and Haskell have many things in common, such as type-based function dispatch, first class functions and currying, so picking up the syntax is relatively easy. Since there are always some TODO tests for features in need of implementation, it is never hard to find something to do.

I have learned some Perl 6. What can I do with Pugs?

Look at the examples/ directory to see some sample programs. Some people are already writing web applications and report systems with Pugs. If you run into a missing feature in Pugs, please let us know so we can implement it.

Where can I learn more about Haskell?

The Haskell homepage and the Wiki are good entry points. Of the many online tutorials, Yet Another Haskell Tutorial is perhaps the most accessible. Due to the ubiquitous use of Monad transformers in Pugs, All About Monads is also recommended. For books, Algorithms: A Functional Programming Approach, Haskell: The Craft of Functional Programming and The Haskell School of Expression are fine introductory materials. Finally, the #haskell channel on freenode is full of helpful and interesting people.

Where can I learn more about Perl 6?

The Perl 6 homepage provides many online documents. Every week or two, a new Perl 6 list summary will appear on Perl.com; it is a must-read for people who wish to follow Perl 6’s progress. For books, Perl 6 and Parrot Essentials and Perl 6 Now are both helpful.

Where can I learn more about implementing programming languages?

Types and Programming Languages is an essential read; Pugs started out as a self-initiated study of the text, and it continues to be an important guide during the implementation. Its sequel, Advanced Topics in Types and Programming Languages, is also invaluable. It may also help to get acquainted with other multi-paradigmatic languages, such as Mozart/Oz, Curry and O’Caml. Finally, the detailed GHC commentary describes how GHC itself was implemented.

I’d like to help. What should I do?

First, subscribe to the perl6-compiler mailing list by sending an empty mail to perl6-compiler-subscribe@perl.org. Next, join the #perl6 IRC channel on irc.freenode.net to find out what needs to be done. Commit access is handed out liberally; contact the Pugs team on #perl6 for details. See you on IRC!